top of page

Acerca de

About us 

The Federation is New Zealand’s peak body for Primary Health Care.  We promote health and wellbeing, on behalf of members for the benefit of the population of New Zealand. In 2018, 70 of New Zealand’s primary health care leaders representing PHO’s, pharmacy, midwifery, allied health, nursing and others came together to form the Federation of Primary Health Aotearoa New Zealand.  The organisation was initially chaired by Dame Annette King.  The current chair is Hon Steve Chadwick. 

Post COVID and with the health system review well underway, the reach and membership of the Federation is now being expanded to all areas of primary health including:

  • Aged care

  • Wellness

  • Community health

  • NGO’s

  • Mental health

  • Maori, Iwi

  • Disability

  • Professional organisations

The Federation is an all-encompassing peak body that requires members to set aside their separate sector interests – putting patient-centred care before all else. We aim to lead the discussion in primary care policy throughout New Zealand.  Our membership represents all providers of primary care.


To view the Constitution, click here.


Following the adoption of the Constitution on 29 March 2021, some Board members have transitioned and others have been co-opted.  They will hold their positions until the next Annual General Meeting which is to be held on 25 November 2022.  An election process will take place.


Current Board Members

Hon. Steve Chadwick (Independent Chair)

Andrew Gaudin – Pharmacy Guild

Dr Angus Chambers – General Practitioner, Christchurch PHO

Teresa Wall – Director Wall Consultants

Sheldon Ngatai – Kaimnāki Oranga

Phillip Chapman – Consumer Representative

Prof Don Matheson

Jenny Carryer – College of Nurses

bottom of page